Lower carbon meat and dairy programme

Fossil fuels like coal and natural gas represent over 75% of the energy used by meat and dairy plants. Switching to lower carbon fuels like wood and biogas and using energy more efficiently can save your plant money, reduce your carbon dioxide emissions, and reduce air pollution.

(Applications for funding under this programme closed on 30 June 2016)

What’s on offer

If you’re a meat or dairy processor, we can help you to reduce the carbon emissions you produce by burning fossil fuels.

We provide funds to scope the feasibility of carbon emission reduction and to build a compelling business case for investment. We provide funding through our programme partners.

We may fund up to 75% of the costs, to a maximum of $15,000 per site. As a recipient you would contribute around 25% in cash or management time and resources to the project.

Who should apply

All meat and dairy processing sites can apply. Applications are prioritised by:

  • the potential energy efficiency change and the opportunity to change fuel
  • the amount carbon emissions could be reduced by
  • current fuel mix and the quantity consumed.

We don’t fund:

  • projects that solely involve electricity efficiency
  • installation of photovoltaic panels
  • wind, hydro and marine electricity generation
  • research and development projects.

How to apply

The companies listed below will work with you to find opportunities on your site and deliver your business case.

How we award grants

Funding is limited to supporting 50 business cases and applications for funding will be evaluated as they are received. While funding can be applied for up until 30 June 2015, this is subject to availability within the budget for 50 business cases.

Approved service providers

Aurecon
Location: Level 4, 139 Carlton Gore Rd, Newmarket, Auckland 1023
Contact: Robert Barrack
Email: robert.barrack@aurecongroup.com
Phone: 021 227 6319
Website: http://www.aurecongroup.com

Beca
Location: 6 Garden Place, Hamilton 3240
Contact: Eric Wisse
Email: eric.wisse@beca.com
Phone: 07 838 3828
Website: http://www.beca.co.nz/

Deta Consulting Limited
Location: Unit 3, 75 Gloucester St, Christchurch 8013
Contact: Jonathan Pooch
Email: jonathan.pooch@deta.co.nz
Phone: 03 377 6510
Website: www.deta.co.nz

 

Dobbie Engineers Limited
Location: 18 Northcroft Street, Takapuna, Auckland 0622
Contact: Hamish Bennett
Email: hbennett@dobeng.co.nz
Phone: 09 446 6285
Website: www.dobeng.co.nz

 
EEP Management Pty Ltd
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Assad Gargari, Director
Email: assadgargari@gmail.com
Phone: 61 3 9844 02220
Website: www.eepmanagement.com.au
 

EMSOL Limited
Location: Unit 3, 11 Waimea Road, Nelson 7010
Contact: Erin Roughton
Email: erin.roughton@emsol.co.nz
Phone: 03 546 6690
Website: www.emsol.co.nz

 

Enercon / LineTech Consulting Limited
Location: 210 Hazeldean Road, Addington, Christchurch 8023
Contact: Kees Brinkman
Email: keesb@enercon.co.nz
Phone: 03 384 7905
Website: www.enercon.co.nz

 

Integrated Energy Solutions (Ites Limited)
Location: Auckland
Contact: Edgar Ludwig
Email: ludwige@ites.co.nz
Phone: 09 5244 754
Website: www.ites.co.nz

 

Ivan A Fraser
Location: 28 Cockayne Crescent, Sunnynook, Auckland 0620
Contact: Ivan A Fraser
Email: ivan.fraser@watchdog.net.nz
Phone: 09 410 5008
Website: www.emanz.org.nz/energy-masters/ivan-fraser-auckland

 

Millbridge Consulting Limited
Location: 9 Beatty Avenue, Karori, Wellington 0612
Contact: Jim Miller
Email: jim@mbenergy.co.nz
Phone: 04 977 9737
Website: www.mbenergy.co.nz

 

Northmore Gordon Pty Ltd    
Location: 101 Toorak Road, Suite 1A, South Yarra VIC 3141
Contact: Craig Morgan
Email: craig@northmoregordon.com
Phone: 0061 448 119 979
Website: www.northmoregordon.com

 
Parsons Brinckerhoff
Location: Level 6, Craigs Investment Partners House, 36 Customhouse Quay, Wellington
Contact: Lindsay Robertson
Email: RobertsonL@pbworld.com
Phone: 04 916 6505
Website: www.pbworld.com/regional/australia_nz.aspx

Smart Alliances Ltd    
Location: 10 High Street, Blenheim 7240
Contact: Nick Meeten
Email: nick@smartalliances.co.nz
Phone: 03 579 6211
Website: www.smartalliances.co.nz

 

Smart Power Limited
Location: Suite 3, 99 The Esplanade, Mana, Porirua 5247
Contact: Glenn Johnston
Email: glenn@smartpower.co.nz
Phone: 03 233 0717
Website: http://www.smartpower.co.nz/

 

Spirax Sarco (NZ) Limited
Location: Auckland
Contact: Olivia Kardos, Technical Support Manager
Email: olivia@spirax.co.nz
Phone: 0800 800 229
Website: www.spiraxsarco.com

 

Worley Parsons New Zealand Limited
Location: L5 City Chambers, Johnston Street, Wellington
Contact: Gerald Crawford
Email: gerald.crawford@worleyparsons.co.nz
Phone: 04 472 6061
Website: www.demandresponse.co.nz