Fuel management reviews

If you have a larger fleet, consuming more than 1 million litres of fuel per year, our fuel management review will identify the potential to save on your fuel bill.

Most heavy vehicle fleets could save over 10% of their annual fuel bill with a programme of maintenance, driver training and other improvements. Fuel management advisors will review your fleet operation to find ways to save fuel. The review is confidential between you, your advisor and EECA.

A list of Registered Fuel Management Advisors is available on the 'How to apply' tab below.

What's on offer

We contribute up to $3,600 towards the costs of the review, which includes recommendations specific to your fleet. We may also provide funding support to help you implement the recommendations made in the review, and follow-up sessions after you’ve implemented the recommendations.

On a case-by-case basis, we also consider funding other initiatives identified in your review, such as driver training and reporting systems.

The review looks at seven areas of your organisation’s fuel management.

  • Fuel data management
  • Driver development
  • Maintenance and tyres
  • Routing and scheduling
  • Aerodynamics
  • Vehicle specification
  • Communication

After the review, your advisor will give you recommendations to improve your fleet's fuel efficiency.

Who should apply

Organisations with fleets that consume over 1 million litres of fuel a year.

If your fleet consumes less than 1 million litres of fuel per year, we have a workshop programme that will instruct you on how to save fuel, improve safety and be more competitive in the current market.

Fuel efficiency workshops

Find out how fuel efficient you are now - use our self-assessment form to give you an idea of improvements you can make and areas your advisor will look at.

Fuel efficiency self-assessment form

How to improve your heavy fleet’s fuel efficiency

HOW TO APPLY

Fuel management advisors, deliver the fuel management reviews and can help you with your funding application. Contact a Fuel Management Advisor directly to apply for a review.

 

Registered Fuel Management Advisor

Company               Contact details
Jim Pollard

Fleet Focus Ltd

Napier

jimpollard@fleetfocus.co.nz

t:    06 845 2334

m:  021 2414696

John Murphy

J2 Transport Strategy

Hamilton

john.murphy@jtwo.co.nz

m:  027 5332779

Pete Cochrane

TR Group

Christchurch

pete.cochrane@trgroup.co.nz

t:    03 343 5290

m:  027 2261405

Tony Flowers

TR Group

Wellington

tony.flowers@trgroup.co.nz

t:    04 568 6147

Tony Newth

Roadskills Ltd

Auckland

tony@roadskills.co.nz

m:  021 968555

Dom Kalasih

Z Energy

Wellington

dom.kalasih@z.co.nz
Allan Henderson

Big Chill Ltd

Wellington

allanh@bigchill.co.nz

(in-house FMA)

Graeme Mabey

HW Richardson Group Ltd

Palmerston North

graeme.mabey@hwr.co.nz

(in-house FMA)

Steve Abley

Abley Transportation Consultants Ltd

Christchurch

steve.abley@abley.com

t:   03 367 9003

m:  021 556864

Shaun Van der Plas

Christchurch

shaun_van@hotmail.com

m: 021 1819941

Steve Bullôt

Tohora Enterprises Ltd

Wellington

tohora.ent@gmail.com

m: 021 02267176